Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Amp Clipping?

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2010, 12:16 AM
Default Amp Clipping?

I'm new to installing audio equipment so please excuse the nube questions.

I just installed the equipment from my former ride into a 2004 Honda Accord as follows:

Replaced rear speakers with JL Audio TR690TXI
Added a Rockford Fosgate Punch 200M Amp and a Kenwood KFCXW1025DB 10" Subwoofer which I fed through the speaker level inputs on the Amp.

Question #1 - Do I need to be concerned about amplifer Clipping? I've been reading about it and I'm not sure I understand it. Maximum power for the amp is 400 Watts, Dynamic Power Rating - Mono into a 4 Ohm load = 100 Watts, Mono into a 2 Ohm load = 200 Watts. The subwoofer has a nominal impedance of 4 Ohm + 4 Ohm, Peak input power = 1,000 Watts and rated input power = 250 Watts.

Question #2 - What is the propper way to set up the amp's gain and variable crossover? The manual for the amp states that it has a built in 12dB/octave Butterworth filter with a crossover point variable from 50Hz to 210Hz. The crossover can be set to LP (low pass) or it can be bypassed by setting it to AP (all pass). This amp also has a Punch Bass control. The control is a narrow band adjustment at 45Hz switchable from 0dB to 6dB to 12dB.

Any advice would be appreciated

Old 05-30-2010, 06:14 AM
Super Moderator

What a wonderful question. I have a lot of information for you, that will also benefit anyone else reading this...

here goes.

How to set your amplifier gain with a DMM:

There are a lot of tutorials on the internet talking about setting your amplifier gain using a DMM (Digital Multi-Meter). Here I will clean up the process as simply (but accurate) as possible.

Necessary Tools/Skills

1. A volt-meter or DMM with standard test leads.
2. Ability to do 6th grade math.
3. Screwdrivers and/or Allen Wrenches (to make amplifier connections).