Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Connecting DAC to AUX Input on 2008 EX-L I4

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2015, 02:19 PM
Question Connecting DAC to AUX Input on 2008 EX-L I4

Hi all,

I think I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to cars and audio equipment so I hope you bear with me.

I currently have a Honda Accord 2008 I4 EX-L. It has the "premium" factory audio system with navigation and 6-CD changer. It has the AUX INPUT in the center console of the car.

I currently listen to music using my smartphone with 320Kbps bit rate or higher (e.g. FLAC). The smartphone is connected via a 3.5mm audio cable that goes into the AUX IN of the car. It is also connected via a USB cable for charging. Setup works but the audio quality is questionable. Mainly due to the poor DAC on my Samsung Galaxy S2 smartphone.

I would like to get rid of one of the audio wires and switch it with a Bluetooth connection. I am planning on buying the Audioengine B1 and use it in the car. This will essentially offload the D-to-A conversion from the smartphone to this dedicated Bluetooth device. It does support aptX which is cool. (My phone doesn't but in a couple of months I shall buy a new phone that supports aptX).

The B1 has RCA output and as far as I know it does not have an amp. My question is: If I connect the B1 to the car's factory AUX IN via an RCA-to-3.5mm adapter, will I get decent volume levels without hiss/distortion? I assume the AUX IN signal goes through a factory amp, right?

Old 06-08-2015, 12:22 AM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by dashrendar
Hi all,

I think I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to cars and audio equipment so I hope you bear with me.

I currently have a Honda Accord 2008 I4 EX-L. It has the "premium" factory audio system with navigation and 6-CD changer. It has the AUX INPUT in the center console of the car.