Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

GROM Audio Help

  #1  
Old 05-13-2011, 09:13 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default GROM Audio Help

Hi,

I have a Honda Accord 2006 Coupe. I bought an Ipod module from GROM audio to enable Ipod/USB connectivity for my factory radio.

I managed to connect the module to the back of my radio, but I couldn't Change from the CD mode to AUX mode using the CD/Aux button on the radio.

Do I need to turn off the engine and turn it back on for the first time inorder for the radio to detect the module?? Or is there anything else that I need to do?

Thanks in Advance
 
  #2  
Old 05-14-2011, 08:29 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,212
Default

did you program the GROM unit? usually DIP switches or a procedure outlined in the owner's manual and installation instructions.

what is the model # of the GROM unit?
 
  #3  
Old 05-15-2011, 03:25 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Hi keep_hope_alive, Thanks for your reply. But I figured it out. It turns out that I have to turn off the engine and turn it back on in order for the radio to detect the GROM device. It is working fine now.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 05-15-2011, 07:24 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,212
Default

good deal. hopefully you don't have to do that every time.
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-2011, 08:28 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah. But I encountered another problem yesterday. I was playing the songs from USB for couple of days. And when I stopped the car yesterday at a shop and then started back, the USB was not playing.

When I switch the mode (eg: FM -> GROM) then the prompt was announcing "IPOD" always, even though I don't have anything connected to the IPOd cable. In other words it is not detecting the USB device at all. Where as, if I play through AUX, it is working fine.

Any Idea why this is happening??
 
  #6  
Old 05-17-2011, 09:44 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,212
Default

not sure, sounds like a question for GROM on how they design their units.
 
  #7  
Old 05-18-2011, 09:12 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 79
Default

I'm looking into doing a similar upgrade and I would love to hear all of your thoughts about the unit. Which model did you get exactly, did you install it yourself, how difficult was it, etc.?

Any features that drew you to that model? Does the song title display on the head unit for example?

Thanks in advance and good luck with your current issues with the unit.
 
  #8  
Old 05-19-2011, 08:29 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I wanted the unit be able to play Ipod, AUX and USB. Most of the units that I saw had only 2 functionalities. That is the reason I went for the GROM audio.

Text display is depending on what type of radio you have. If you have a Honda and it has XM on it, then text display will be there. In my case, I just had the Non-XM version. So text doesn't really show.

I installed the device myself. It was quite easy. There are youtube tutorials of how to do it.

Functionalitywise, the device is performing well so far. Sound quality is also good.

Hopefully, this answers your question.!

Good luck!!
 
  #9  
Old 05-19-2011, 10:26 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 79
Default

Originally Posted by shanthanj View Post
I installed the device myself. It was quite easy. There are youtube tutorials of how to do it.
How much experience do you have with this type of stuff? Have you done installations in the past? Is the unit you buy screwed in anywhere or do you just plug it in and then let it dangle in the back somewhere out of the way?

I've assisted with some mechanical work on my old car (I replaced an engine mount in the school parking lot) and I am comfortable taking apart computers, but I'm still nervous about doing this myself. The youtube videos all seem to have terrible lighting too.
 
  #10  
Old 05-20-2011, 08:15 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I haven't done any installations in the past. As long as you know how to remove the screws and some of the plastic frames you are set. There's No screws with the device. It comes with a sticker that you can attach to make it not move. But I didn't really use it. I just put the device on a side and the other wires will not make it move.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lakario
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
08-10-2012 03:29 PM
hiphophead
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade Classifieds
0
06-30-2011 07:59 AM
mamtsberg
General Tech Help
5
03-17-2010 09:15 PM
tru_44
Audio/Visual Electronics
3
07-16-2007 10:23 PM
msmi11
Audio/Visual Electronics
5
11-06-2006 11:09 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: GROM Audio Help


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.