Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?

  #1  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:54 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 17
Default Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?

I just got an 03 LX sedan and I am going to put the Kenwood deck from my old vehicle into it. I purchased the "storage box" install kit. Anyway, with previous vehicles I'veowned, I've hadbad experiences when using the ground wire on the factory wiring harness (none of which were Hondas). It always seemed to work better to ground the radio directly to the body. Have you guys had good luck simply using the ground on the factory harness?
 
  #2  
Old 12-31-2007, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 6,290
Default RE: Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?

I've had my stereo in 2 different honda's with the stock ground wire without issue.
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-2007, 11:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 141
Default RE: Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?

I, like you, have a Kenwood deck, have had many actually! Anyways, two different Hondas 4 different kenwood decks, factory ground everytime, no problems ever
 
  #4  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:11 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 17
Default RE: Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?

Factory ground it is Thanks guys!
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:18 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 17
Default RE: Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?

One more thing, as far as I understand it, the blue wire is onlyfor motor-driven antennas, yet the kit's harness has a blue wire on it. Should I hook it up anyway?
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 6,290
Default RE: Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?

Hook it up since that's what most people use as their power on wire for amps. If you ever want to add an amp you'll want that wire.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Tobey Hall
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
3
02-04-2015 05:45 PM
magiconthetire
Audio/Visual Electronics
7
10-29-2007 12:21 PM
03Sleeper
Engine & Internal
10
05-02-2007 08:01 PM
Green_Accord
Engine & Internal
4
04-05-2006 04:11 AM
F23AccordLX
Headers, Intake, & Exhaust
7
02-24-2006 07:48 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Is the ground wire on the factor harness adequate?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.