Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

HELP! Wiring power wire through firewall

  #1  
Old 02-18-2013, 03:58 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Exclamation HELP! Wiring power wire through firewall

I know this is a common question but i need to get an 8 gauge power wire through my firewall of a 2000 Honda Accord Coupe. Here are pictures of the inside driver side and passenger side.

Name:  photo2.jpg
Views: 1034
Size:  93.7 KB





 
Attached Thumbnails HELP! Wiring power wire through firewall-photo1.jpg   HELP! Wiring power wire through firewall-photo3.jpg  
  #2  
Old 02-18-2013, 05:05 PM
Senior Member Stereo Guru..Almost A Mod :)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: louisiana
Posts: 862
Default

you should be able to locate a larger gromet on the upper driver side of the firewall. cut a hole in there and pull it through. if not, then you can pull it through the same as the main pull into your car. you shouldnt have any issues with going through the same gromet.
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:48 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

you need to pull back the factory barrier to see the metal firewall. the grommet is above the gas pedal. remove it, drill a hole sized for the power wire, then put the grommet back. then you can push the power wire through (from inside) and pull the length required to route to the battery/fuse holder. be sure to route it at this time. i use zip ties to hold the wire in place and I use split loom to make it look like factory and remain protected.

then you can use silicone to seal the power wire at the grommet so no water gets in. the silicone will need a few hours to cure, so do that after you've routed the power wire to the trunk and have your lengths nailed down.
 
  #4  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:53 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,207
Default

the small grey wire to the right is the factory grommet:


for larger than 4awg, you need to drill. i found this location to be perfect:


i used the battery mount to hold the fuse holder. i had to massage it a bit and drill some holes (with it removed) to use nuts and bolts to hold the battery holder down.
Name:  accordbattery004.jpg
Views: 298
Size:  104.2 KB
 
Attached Thumbnails HELP! Wiring power wire through firewall-accordbattery011.jpg  
  #5  
Old 02-25-2013, 10:23 PM
Senior Member Stereo Guru..Almost A Mod :)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: louisiana
Posts: 862
Default

in my car, I drilled that plate and the hole came out in the wheel well. I had to pull mine through higher up in the dash.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Custnam
Audio/Visual Electronics
7
05-13-2015 12:23 AM
fjpthree
Audio/Visual Electronics
11
04-04-2013 10:28 PM
swagonpoint
General Tech Help
2
04-08-2011 07:09 PM
bpo145
Audio/Visual Electronics
4
09-17-2006 02:25 PM
Burn69
Audio/Visual Electronics
5
11-14-2005 09:34 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: HELP! Wiring power wire through firewall


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.