Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

replaced stereo now some lights wont work

  #1  
Old 08-20-2011, 01:44 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default replaced stereo now some lights wont work

I replaced stereo in 2000 accord now dash nightlights and AC night lights wont work. I feel its the drivers side multiplex control unit. If it is, why did it blow and will a new one blow as well. does this also control the roof light when the door on the door is opened?
 
  #2  
Old 08-20-2011, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 394
Default

Have you checked all your fuses? That would be the first thing to do.
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-2011, 04:50 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

checked all fuses.
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 394
Default

Let's see if keep_hope_alive will pop in here, maybe it's an issue with the new stereo. I'm not a sound system guy.
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:45 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,209
Default

If it is just a few bulbs then The failed bulbs need to be replaced. They are incandescent and fragile. I have noticed that after removing and reinstalling sometimes they fail. Nothing more than fragile filaments.

If it is all of them, then you have a lack of voltage. How did you check fuses? The only way to check is with a DMM, by measuring voltage on both sides of the fuses, that is why they fuses have metal tabs that are visible when the fuse is place. The dash light brightness is controlled by a dial at the gauge cluster, make sure the dial is turned up. I have the manual for your car, I will review and get back to you.
 
  #6  
Old 08-22-2011, 02:07 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 37
Default

i have a similar situation except i have a 2007 accord ex no navigation or dual climate controls.
however i had an aftermarket headunit installed. i was told that it should not have been an issue whether or not i had the stock stereo in or not.

to add to my story, i went back to the stock unit so i could regain use of my steering wheel controls, since i did not feel like paying for a harness to use with my aftermarket head unit.

so on top of the first mentioned problem i now have no steering wheel controls.
 
  #7  
Old 08-23-2011, 05:52 PM
keep_hope_alive's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Posts: 3,209
Default

Name:  haynes1.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  123.7 KB
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JurassicPark
General Tech Help
6
06-16-2015 06:30 PM
Pajamarama
General Tech Help
4
06-08-2012 08:57 AM
mattmackay
General Tech Help
4
08-20-2011 02:19 PM
freemoney
General Tech Help
6
11-19-2010 02:30 PM
Calidude87
General Tech Help
9
05-22-2008 03:27 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: replaced stereo now some lights wont work


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.