General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1990 Accord Starting Problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2008, 10:23 PM
old_phart
Unregistered
Default 1990 Accord Starting Problem

My problem is this: 1990 2.2L engine: there is spark at the plugs, there is fuel at the rail or bus that the injectors sit on. I'm no mechanic, but I wonder if there is a common problem with this engine that someone might know of, or if someone could point me in the right direction for further tests/trouble shooting. Symptom - car driven home one night and wouldn't start the next morning, I left it for about five days and it started, thinking that I may have a dirty fuel filter, I changed it, a couple of days later, but it wouldn't start after the fuel filter was changed. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks

Old 03-12-2008, 01:04 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Default RE: 1990 Accord Starting Problem

Any no-start problem starts w/ same question; fuel problem or ignition? Next time no start occurs, check the fuel rail for fuel pressure by cracking the bleed plug or banjo bolt connection. You should get a powerful spray of fuel (40+ psi is normal).

If nothing ora dribble, low fuel pressure is reason for no start. This could be 1) failing main fuel relay or 2) intermittent fuel pump. I recently has a fuel pump that would start fine when car was recently used, but would fail to kick off after sitting for a few hours or overnight. I could "hammer" w/ repeated key off-on-off-on until it would finally catch (you can hear fuel pump if you listen carefully w/ doors closed and windows up).