General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1996 Accord A/c Troubleshoot need help!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2013, 11:50 AM
Default 1996 Accord A/c Troubleshoot need help!!

So, I picked up a 96 accord for my daughter. clean car good price and as a mechanic I always liked honda as they are usually pretty staight forward to work on. the a/c did not work when we bought it. As temps are now staying in the high 90's here in central cal i figured it was time to get some a/c. Whipped out the gauge set and checked the charge the pressures were good yet the clutch was not engaging. upon inspection i found some tape around compressor lead between clutch and connector. removed tape and found a solder joint. This makes me believe either clutch or comp. have been replaced(wire sizes are different on each side of joint). So next i jumped from batt to comp and ac worked well and pressures looked good. checked power at relay, was good, so i switched with fan relay. fan worked, A/C didn't. so i jumpered the pressure switch. nothing. next i went inside the vehicle and pulled the glove box and jumpered the thermostat. no change. So i used my meter and found as follows: red and white input to ecu has 12v present. when switch is engaged on dash input switches to ground(continiuty to ground shows .034 ohms resistance. when a/c is turned on idle speed goes up and a/c fan turns on. At this point i am reading 4.93 volts at both comp output to relay and at the relay plug, with no continuity to ground, so the relay won't engage. Ive checked continuity of the blue/red output wire and it has perfect continuity from one end to the other so im pretty sure not wiring. I just really would like to be sure of an ecu failure before buying one. my diag experience with ecu's usually leads to an alternate problem. but in this case i cannot see what else it could be. Also checked the diode and it tests good. A