General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'92 Wagon Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2013, 02:08 PM
Default '92 Wagon Questions

I'm new to the Honda scene and am by no means a car expert... I don't know too much about cars other than the basics, but I'm trying to be a girl who isn't clueless or naive about issues my car does/ will have. I'm a "do-it-myself" kind of girl

I recently bought a 1992 Accord wagon from an elderly couple who sold it to the car dealership I work for. They were the original owners, and have kept every single service record since they bought it in the winter of '91 (seriously, it's amazing). They even tracked all the service in the back of the owner's manual! It had 69k on it when I bought it. I've had it about a year and now it has about 85k.

I've only had to replace/ fix most of the things that usually need replacing with time (spark plugs, tires etc). I also replaced the alternator and battery a few months back.

Here's my question(s):

1. I've noticed that when I idle, my wagon would start to overheat. I have had to constantly keep filling up my coolant. Over the past few weeks/ months, it's been overheating more and more often. Obviously there is a leak or something. At the auto parts store, they reccommend "Liquid Glass" or similar products. I haven't tried it yet, because I am a little paranoid about putting foreign substances in my car... Has anyone used these products? Do you recomend them? Are they safe? Also, how can i find out where the leak is so I can fix it?