General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

94 Accord Rotor Design Flaw?

Old 09-17-2007, 01:06 PM
mw011i
Unregistered
Default 94 Accord Rotor Design Flaw?

Hey everybody...I'm a newbie...really glad I found this site.

Had a front brake job on 4/21/07 performed by my mechanic of many years. Total cost was roughly $400 for new rotors, pads, etc.--all genuine Honda parts. Within the past 2 months, I noticed a slight pulsation when braking. Brought the car back to the mechanic, as all parts & labor are covered under a 12-month/12K mile warranty.

He said that the rotors were in fact warped, as I suspected, and said it was a design flaw that occurs only on 94-95 Accords. He said he could grind them down (using a special machine that "mounted" to the car, since these special rotors didn't pop-off). When I asked him how much, he said he'd give me a "fair price". Right away, I'm thinking I shouldn't pay anything, since these brakes were only 4.5 months old. He also said that his brake supplier (& Honda) recommends that the rotors be sanded while they're new...something he said he does not do, in an effort to lower the cost for the customer. He also gave me the option of replacing the rotors for free, under the warranty, but warned me that the problem could re-occur, due to the "design flaw", and basically wouldn’t do it unless he sanded them down first (for which he would charge me).

I should also note that shortly after getting the car back after the original brake job in April, I noticed that it would pull to the right when braking, though very subtle.

Long story short, we decided to keep the existing [warped] rotors, and grind them down, at which point I received a bill for $184. Suddenly, a $400 front brake job turned into a nearly $600.