General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

alternator doesn't work sometime

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2012, 11:39 PM
Default alternator doesn't work sometime

Hi everyone,
I am a college student. I do not have money to send the my car to dealer. I hope you guys may help.
I have a 2003 accord coupe 2.4 with 89,xxx miles
My battery light came up couple weeks ago. I knew it should be the alternator problem, but I was tight on $$. I did not get it fixed.
Finally, the car went out of battery at school. It could not start. I jumped it up. After 20 sec., it dead again. I did not want to get a tow, so I bought a alternator n a battery from AutoZone n replaced at school. It ran fine, but the battery light was still on.
Then I took it back to AutoZone. They replaced me another alternator. and the 2nd alternator was tested, good. After installation, the battery light is still on.
The voltage is about 12.5v when the car is off.
12.3v when the car is on.
In the morning (when the car is cold), the alternator does not work.
After driving 3-4 miles, the alternator starts to function. (Voltage is about 13v-14v) n battery light goes off.
I though that was the problem with the belt. I replaced as well, but it didnt help.
personally I think it is electric problem because it works sometime.
Does anyone can direct me where i should start to check?
thanks

Last edited by thomas18a; 11-06-2012 at 11:43 PM.
Old 11-07-2012, 06:46 AM
Super Moderator

Check the wiring harness to the alternator, look for some insulation rubbed off & wires sometimes touching ground.