General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Back from holiday and my car is dead!

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2012, 04:26 AM
Default Back from holiday and my car is dead!

Hi
I'm new to all this so apologies if I breach any etiquette.

I've just returned from holiday and getting no response from the car. Its a 2004 Accord 2.4 I-vtec SE.
Whilst I was away my mother moved the car a few inches to gain access to my garage but apart from that it hasn't moved in 4 weeks.

The story goes like this:
When I went to get the car the first time after hols, the key wouldn't remotely unlock the car and so I unlocked manually. This resulted in the alarm going off which was then able to be silenced with the key remote.
Got in, turned the key and nothing. A single click but that is it.

When the key is inserted and turned to position II, the green key security light flashes telling me that the security code is not recognised. This happens whichever key I used (I have two - and one came with me on a long flight and the other stayed in this country so it's not an altitude issue!)
I have read elsewhere that if its the immobiliser the car will crank but not start - in this case the car is not cranking at all.

A voltmeter tells me the battery is at 8 volts. I left it on trickle charge overnight (actually for about 18 hours) and the voltage is now, still, 8V.
What is puzzling is that the battery charger has a series of lights that give me a simple voltmeter reading (0, 25%, 50%, etc) - these are telling me that the battery is 'Full' - and was 'Full' when I first connected it up.
So I'm now not sure if my voltmeter is working.

When the battery is connected up and the key is in the ignition (and green light flashing) the headlamps do not come on - flat battery or a result of the immobiliser? Hazards work but they seemed dimmer than normal - but in daylight I wasn't sure.