General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Blowing oil from both ends?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 12:00 PM
skinsgamer
Unregistered
Default Blowing oil from both ends?

Hi, newbie here. I have a 1983 Honda Accord with 240K, she is blowing oil out the dipstick and some out the tailpipe. Do I need to replace the engine or is there a less intrusive fix?

Thanks.

Old 08-03-2007, 12:14 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Default RE: Blowing oil from both ends?

Probably a Positive Crankcase Ventilation (PCV) system fault. Check PCV valve and hoses for blockages. Make sure connection points to throttle body, valve cover, and air intake are open and clean.

good luck

Old 08-03-2007, 12:15 PM

It sounds like you've got one heck of a bad cylinder, you could do a compression test to confirm that but from the sounds of it that motor is beyond toasted....

Old 08-03-2007, 09:41 PM

how much oil comes out of the tail pipe ?

Old 08-03-2007, 09:55 PM
skinsgamer
Unregistered

Hmm, not like it drips but enough to create a carbon spot on the driveway where the tailpipe aims. You have to be reving it to get any blow by.

Oddly, it runs great when it's not spewing oil out the dipstick. This past winter it finally put so much pressure on the valve cover it blew by the distributor gasket and that's when I had to retire her. My 17 year old is about to be licensed so I wanted to get her up and running for him. Local auto recycler says he can get me a medium mileage engine for about $300.00 so I think my boy and I will be doing a project together. Which is of course okay.

Old 08-18-2007, 05:29 PM
skinsgamer
Unregistered