General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Booster Compatibility

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 12:11 PM
Default Brake Booster Compatibility

I have a 1985 Accord and the brakes don't work at all. The car will be running, and if you depress the brake pedal, the car will shut off and die. The Ebrake works but that's it. I figured its the brake booster because it seems like the car gets a huge vacuum like because it just cuts out and dies when the brake pedal is depressed.

I'm new to Honda's and I'm having a hard time finding a replacement booster. I knew that would happen but instead of shelling out near 60-70$ for a booster, I figure I could find a booster at the junkyard but I need to know what boosters are compatible with mine.

I believe all the years 1984-89 Accords are parts compatible, but thats all in know (i think at least)

I was wondering possibly if I could get a booster off of a Civic or Prelude possibly. How can I match up the parts numbers or find ones that are compatible with mine?

Old 09-20-2010, 07:51 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Check car-part.com and look for a part near your zip. If no joy try calling salvage yards and place an order over the phone. I've done this w/ good results.

Looks like about $25-$30 is as cheap as you'll find. W/ shipping you won't save more than $10-15. A new replacement may be a better deal unless you find a good buy locally.

good luck

Old 09-20-2010, 07:55 PM
Super Moderator

I would first consider testing to see if the booster will hold vacuum.
The car stalls when the brakes are applied because the booster does indeed use a large amount of vacuum, however the problem could well be another vacuum leak elsewhere.
Quick check is to spray around vac lines and connectors with carb cleaner to see if the idle surges when the vacuum leak intakes the carb cleaner spray.