General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Brake Light Switch Rubber Stop Replacement

  #1  
Old 05-22-2012, 08:17 PM
TexasHonda's Avatar
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 9,651
Default Brake Light Switch Rubber Stop Replacement

Help needed from anyone who's replaced the rubber grommet that depresses the brake light switch fully. Mine has broken and fallen out allowing brake light to stay on full time. I noticed this evening and pulled brake light fuse (20A Under Hood Fuse box).

I will pick up the grommet from Honda tomorrow.

I took a quick peek at the brake light switch. It is very difficult to see/access behind the steering column. I'm hoping I can depress brake pedal and push the grommet into the braket (on brake pedal) w/o too much trouble. Anyone accomplished this job w/ tips?

Regards
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-2012, 08:31 PM
redbull-1's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 6,608
Default

This link shows for a CRX; but, it is the exact same part #. You could even tape a penny or two there right now.

Brake lights stay on...how I fixed them - Honda-Tech
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-2012, 08:43 PM
poorman212's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 11,819
Default

TX/Redbull- You pretty much have it IMO. Done this on the 95 and a few of my 3rd gens. Push the pedal, place the new "plug" into the hole, give it a push....should be done. Of course you know the drill, check the lights and the cruise function and done...10 minutes, maybe?

Yes, I've used a bolt or a penny as a temp fix until I could get the plug from the dealer.....was late to work that day as I had to recharge the battery

Again both of you know I'm a small guy so getting under there is not an issue for me....now as old as I'm getting, the pain the next day sucks
 

Last edited by poorman212; 05-22-2012 at 08:49 PM.
  #4  
Old 05-22-2012, 09:00 PM
TexasHonda's Avatar
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 9,651
Default

Thanks for the info. I did this on an Acura 2.5TL and had to bleed the brake to get the pedal to move far enough away from the switch to allow access. I'm hoping that's not the case here.

Regards
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-2012, 09:09 PM
poorman212's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 11,819
Default

I didn't have to on my 95 ??? Now if you need a bit more room, start the car so the pedal goes down a bit more......or should I say further without more effort. One hand-head-shoulder (it is tight down there) on the pedal, the other hand pushes the "plug" into place
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-2012, 09:22 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 13,052
Default

Search this on YouTube: v=Nuj9o6YdO8A

It is a video on a 93 Acura Legend. It may help.
 
  #7  
Old 05-23-2012, 06:44 PM
TexasHonda's Avatar
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 9,651
Default

Thanks for the input. I picked up the part this afternoon and installed w/i 5 mins. I did have to start the car to be able to depress the brake pedal enough for installation space, but that's it.

My dear wife drove the car today and I drove her 06 Acura TSX. She called me at the office to complain the gear shift on this POS would not move. I explained that you had to close brake switch to enable shifting and since fuse was pulled this was not possible. Honda (of necessity I'm sure) provided a bypass release around the shift lock. She was mollified when it worked.

Regards
 
  #8  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:18 PM
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Default

In my 1999 Honda Accord EX, the same 'brake pedal plug broke'. I replaced it. The back lights work good but the cruise control still does not. Any Idea why?

Thanks for your help.. in advance!!!
 
  #9  
Old 09-14-2012, 06:07 PM
TexasHonda's Avatar
Super Moderator : And A Texan
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 9,651
Default

Check whether brake lights are On all the time. If yes, the brake light switch or new bumper plug is likely reason.

good luck
 
  #10  
Old 03-29-2019, 03:51 PM
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Originally Posted by poorman212 View Post
I didn't have to on my 95 ??? Now if you need a bit more room, start the car so the pedal goes down a bit more......or should I say further without more effort. One hand-head-shoulder (it is tight down there) on the pedal, the other hand pushes the "plug" into place
Omg thank you! I could not get that rubber brake stopper in the brake pedal, because the brake switch was too close. It never occurred to me to crank the car, I thought I was going to have remove the brake switch. ��*♀️
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mullet93
General Tech Help
1
05-20-2013 08:46 PM
natew51
General Tech Help
0
08-04-2010 07:55 AM
xaznxeclipsex
General Tech Help
7
09-28-2007 02:05 PM
badxdawgx818
Off Topic
12
09-04-2007 03:36 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Brake Light Switch Rubber Stop Replacement


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.