General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

A/C Dead 1993 Accord - Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2013, 10:48 PM
Default A/C Dead 1993 Accord - Help Please

I am new to Hondas but not to auto repair.

I have a '93 Accord with dead AC. I'm told it was working last fall, but not blowing very cold. So I suspect it has been leaking down over time.

I believe this is an R12 system (the car is not here but I'll check the fittings).

My questions:

1. Am I better off scrounging up some R12 or convert the system to R134a? (What about Freeze 12?)

2. Nothing at all happens when the AC button is pressed. Fans do not come on. Compressor does not engage. In fact the lite on the dash button itself does not even come on. (What in particular, if anything, does this suggest?) The fuse in the drivers side kick panel is good.

3. I'll start shopping now for a good R134a manifold gauge set in anticipation. (Or can I flush out/clean my old R12 gauges and use them with fitting adapters?)

Many thanks in advance for any help you experts can lend me.

Old 05-06-2013, 12:45 AM
Super Moderator

I can't remember what year the accord when to R134a. It was around 93. There is a sticker under you hood that should tell you if it is R12 or R134a.

When diagnosing the a/c, I would start by testing at the pressure switch. This is plugged into a hard line near the compressor and has 2 wires going to it. The colors are blu/blk and blu/yel.

Grab a volt meter. With the key in the II position and the a/c switch turned on inside the car with the blower turned on. Unplug the pressure switch. The blu/blk wire should have 12V. The blu/yel wire should have continuity to ground (closed circuit or ~zero resistance). Also the two pins across the pressure switch should have continuity to each other.

Let us know what you find.

Old 05-06-2013, 08:48 PM

Thanks for the reply PAhonda.