General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Climate Control Blinks then Dies

  #21  
Old 07-12-2015, 11:23 AM
Newest Of Newbies
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by ramshyam View Post
Redbull/Drocca


I am having same issue in my 99 Honda Accord. My AC is completely dead and Heater is blowing maximum settings Hot air. Fan **** is working but Climate control **** has no control over the Heater. No control unit's lights are functioning and no control over any of the buttons on the Unit(except the blower fan control ****)


The initial problem was exactly what is described here. Climate control unit used to blink , would make click-click kind of sound and then would go dead in 1-2 minutes. It would then work for the settings you had selected before it goes dead.


Now control unit blows hot air and pressing any button has no change.


I am wondering the wire soldering solution you have posted would work for my Car?


Please advise.


Thanks

Note: 1) I disassembled the unit, used contact cleaner to clean the circuit - No change.
2) I took my car to local body shop. They are asking me to replace Control Unit first. It means they are not very sure.
Sorry for the late reply. Provided that you have the manual climate control and NOT the digital climate control, the jumper solution should work for you. It worked for me for years, although I recently had to replace my CC unit for a different problem (potentiometer that regulates temperature became faulty).

Be sure to follow the directions carefully and if the problem with yours is indeed the same the issue should resolve.
 
  #22  
Old 07-27-2015, 10:22 AM
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by drocca adnoh View Post
Mine acted exactly like yours, at first blinking lights etc, then no lights, just blowing hot air(like some people I know).

This little jumper fixed the problem, I had cool a/c once again.

I no longer own that car, but it worked when I sold the car.

Good luck.
I just used the jumper wire fix yesterday and it worked! I suck at soldering so if I can do this, anyone can.
 
  #23  
Old 08-03-2015, 07:00 AM
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Default same problem

The jumping of the wire worked perfectly. Thanks for the help
 
  #24  
Old 08-11-2015, 01:55 PM
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Default

So I did notice an issue once I changed the buttons that control where the AC is dispursed. They do not change easily, it took quite a few times pressing buttons to get it to change. This is after I fixed using jumper
 
  #25  
Old 08-13-2015, 05:04 PM
poorman212's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Youngsville, NC
Posts: 11,819
Default

Could be the "mode motor" getting weak or binding?
 
  #26  
Old 08-13-2015, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 595
Default

Originally Posted by D.Puncher View Post
So I did notice an issue once I changed the buttons that control where the AC is dispursed. They do not change easily, it took quite a few times pressing buttons to get it to change. This is after I fixed using jumper
You stated above that you were not good at soldering so I have to ask, the problem you now describe, was it present at any point prior or is it new? It may be that some solder is close to another lead on the board causing mixed signals if other suggestions don't work.
 
  #27  
Old 08-14-2015, 10:58 AM
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Default

I think u may be right, wasn't the best soldering job. I'm probably just going to leave it alone since I always keep in on the same setting anyway. Just good to have cold air!
 
  #28  
Old 05-04-2016, 09:08 AM
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Default

If my mechanic refuses to try this fix, will replacing the control panel fix the problem? It would cost over $300, but I have to have air conditioning.
 
  #29  
Old 05-04-2016, 09:34 AM
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by Steveaccord98 View Post
If my mechanic refuses to try this fix, will replacing the control panel fix the problem? It would cost over $300, but I have to have air conditioning.
You can easily do it yourself if I can. If you really want to replace the control panel, yes it will fix it but I wouldn't pay $300. The part is half that price and takes 15 min to install
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Nicolai Hobbs
General Tech Help
13
07-12-2012 05:44 PM
maachan513
General Tech Help
15
09-30-2010 06:34 PM
SolEX01
General Tech Help
3
08-10-2010 05:04 PM
greenbean
General Tech Help
2
09-21-2007 03:14 PM
pepecrower
General Tech Help
3
04-16-2006 02:30 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Climate Control Blinks then Dies


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.