General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch replacement 2004 Honda Accord EX 2.4L 5speed Manual

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2019, 08:49 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Clutch replacement 2004 Honda Accord EX 2.4L 5speed Manual

Good evening from Florida!

I would like to start off by saying I am not a mechanic at all. Please dumb down any advice you may offer. I am pretty decent at following directions. I replaced the clutch in my 2004 Honda Accord, it was a monumental job for someone like myself. I just got the car back together tonight. The car will not go into 1st gear while on, I can put it in second gear and was able to drive down the road and back with no issues with 2nd-5th gear. I did notice that pressing the clutch in while slowing down and trying to place it in third gear or second (to use the engine to slow me down) the car didn't want to drop into gear unless I revved it up a little. I was also unable to put the car in reverse. So while running I physically can not pull or push the shifter **** into 1st or reverse.

While running all the gears seen super tight and I feel much more resistance in my shift ****. I never disconnected the master cylinder or hydraulic thingy when doing this clutch replacement. I disconnected it from the transmission but never bled the clutch. Was I supposed to do that after replacing the clutch?

Thank you for any input you may have.

Old 04-23-2019, 09:17 PM
Super Moderator

Bleeding the clutch at the slave cylinder is pretty simple and quick to do, so I'd say it is worth a shot. I don't know if this will fix your problem.

The other area to quickly inspect is the shift cable connections to the transmission. Make sure you have them connected properly.