General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fuel Starvation Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2012, 10:23 PM
Default Fuel Starvation Problem?

Hi Folks –
Newbie here to the forum as well as being an owner of my first Honda as of two days ago. Live in MI but came to FL to buy and drive home a rust fee car for the college senior grand kid - something not possible in MI.

Anyway, my problem is virtual identical to rcabl, the original poster. The car drives beautifully for several miles and then the hesitation, bogging and rough running begin. In desperation, initially installed a new Auto Zone ignition coil simply because the situation was consistent with my experiences regarding the secondary ignition going astray. I was wrong because it changed nothing - thought for a while the problem was solved but in about 30 minutes, it came back. So I had replaced a good coil with another good coil - me bad! LOL!

After fiddling around with it for a day or so, I discovered the thing ran a ton better with the throttle position sensor disconnected - it goes into limp in mode then. There was none of the problems as described above, but when in limp-in mode, the trans shift points were at higher speeds and 4th gear was unavailable. Also had way less power because of the fixed sensor parameters when in limp-in. So, with the car running better with the TPS disconnected, I condemned the original TPS and replaced it with a new one. Guess what? Nothing changed - I had replaced a good TPS with a new TPS - me bad again! LOL!