General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

half changed brake fluid

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2014, 06:01 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Angry half changed brake fluid

i think this is more of a rant than anything. i usually do my oil change and tranny fluid change (and other fluids) but this is my first time working on the brakes. I have a honda accord 2007 hybrid V6. with fluid changes I use a ramp but this one requires lifting the tires up with a hydraulic jack. my 2 ton one just doesn't cut it. so i went out and spent some good money on a decent motomaster 3 ton ramp (heavy duty). 2 things suck about my car, the damn jack point at the back is too high and the ones on the side doesn't give enough space to fit jack stands once my hydraulic jack lifts the car up.... so i couldnt lift my back wheels unless i use it without jack stands. i thought it should be fine because i dont need to work under the car.... but i didnt want to risk it. long story short i was only able to bleed out the front tires. however i ran out of dot 3 by the end of the front bleeding. i had quite a bit of old dot 3. i couldnt see clear fluid coming from the lines. i only bought 1 bottle of Honda oem dot 3 (i was told its more than enough) so even if i did want to bleed the rear brakes i still didnt have enough. i just said **** it and left the rear tires unbleed.

i guess my question is if thats ok? i mean i guess ill have to change my brake fluid next time a bit earlier instead since it has some old dot 3 mixed it. i mean even if the old fluid was acidic, i've diluted it with a whole bottle essentially which should increase the pH (less acidic). i drove around town and looked at my fluids and it seems clear from the master cylinder. no i dont think i got air mixed my brake lines as i tested the braking and it seems slightly tighter than before. any thoughts haha?

Old 07-09-2014, 01:11 AM