General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Newbie here needs help with Belt noise and oil consumption

Old 11-08-2010, 11:24 PM
Default Newbie here needs help with Belt noise and oil consumption

Hey guys, first time posting here

I have a 2003 EX I4 making some weird noises from the engine, I thought it was the timing belt, but found out this car uses a timing chain. It seems to be the belt that connects the alternator to the rest of the car (I'm a total car newb, this is my first car, I've only had it 6 months and I'm 18)

I just recently replaced the antifreeze with some Prestone crap, thinking the manual was telling me to go out and buy genuine Honda antifreeze, only to find out that it's because generic crap like prestone causes corrosion. So looks like I'll keep it in there a few weeks until I get some cash. Next time I'll rtfm and listen to it.

The car came with 56k, I put about 15k on it in 6 months, so it's got a little over 80k on it now. I've made a video with some audio at the end (audio only at the end, my phone gets much better audio quality when the recorder is being used, while the cam is used it sucks) that explains the sound I'm hearing. Here's the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cc_FiWIkMl4

This sound's been going on for a little while, probably like 5k or more miles. The engine was always loud since I got the car, but it seems that it just has been getting louder since this started popping up.