General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

TPS idle setting

  #1  
Old 06-02-2011, 10:10 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default TPS idle setting

Hi all .... it's been a while since I've posted. A few months ago, I picked up another 2000 Accord, except this one is just a cheap vehicle, not a show car (4 cyl SE). My issue is that I got a CEL for low TPS reading. This car has the security bolts on the sensor so Honda can try to sell you a new throttle body to fix a sensor .... needless to say, I got the Blox sensor rather than the throttle body. After I installed the sensor, it took a few days to give the same CEL. I adjusted the sensor to 11.0% at idle, based on what worked for a friend's civic. That adjustment lasted for about 2 weeks, but I've always felt that the car didn't drop to the lower gear properly. I noticed this morning that the CEL is back and I expect it to be the same code ... I think it was P0122, but I'm going from memory on the munber .... it was a low TPS reading though.

My question is if anyone knows or can look up the proper TPS setting when the car is at idle and the gas pedal is at 0%.

Thanks in advance for your help!!!
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:08 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default

Bump ...... Nothing???
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-2011, 05:27 AM
live2rice's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 8,713
Default

Sorry didn't see this thread.

If you have a volt meter with the throttle body closed put the positive end in the middle(think its red) wire on the sensor. Turn the key to the power position. The voltage should be .45(maximum of .50) with the throttle body closed. Then it should be 5.00 or higher at WOT.
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-2011, 09:10 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 6,213
Default

Thanks a lot Cameron!!
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-2011, 09:36 AM
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default TPS Accord 98 LX late shift

Im having sort of the same issue I think. I got ambitious and cleaned out my EGR port and ran some pipe cleaners through the intake port and used a bunch of carb cleaner... then when I reassmbled and started the car up... (i unhooked the battery to work) the CEL was on already and the car wouldn't shift out of 1st until like 3500 or higher Rpms... then I couldn't get it to shift into third at all... I disconnected the shift solenoid (would shift to all gears that way) and drove about a mile to the Autozone to get a code read.. got a TPS code... Is the TPS the same as the MAP sensor on a 98 4cyclinder? if so how do I set it up to work again?

BTW im just stoked to finally have a garage at my place to work on my car its been years...
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:40 AM
JimBlake's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17,371
Default

TPS and MAP are 2 different sensors.



MAP (manifold absolute pressure) sensor is #11 at the top of the throttle body.

TPS (throttle position sensor) doesn't have it's own number but it's at the 9-oclock position when you look down the bore. It's on the other end of the throttle shaft, opposite the cable drum & spring.
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:42 PM
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

ah... well you made my day on that one... Apparently in my haste I forgot to plug the TPS back in. Im feeling really smart right now (just kidding). Jim Blake thanks for the diagram and clearing this up for me. Thanks to the others who started the thread as well.
 
  #8  
Old 08-30-2011, 01:23 PM
JimBlake's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17,371
Default

Join the club. We've all done stuff like that.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JimBlake
DIY Answers.
10
11-04-2016 12:58 PM
notoriousganstr
General Tech Help
5
03-19-2013 12:11 PM
Tai_Boi
General Tech Help
3
03-29-2008 01:08 AM
marbro
General Tech Help
2
02-14-2006 04:48 AM
marbro
General Tech Help
0
02-06-2006 09:28 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: TPS idle setting


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.