General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

window seal

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2006, 09:45 PM
bigeyedphish
Unregistered
Default window seal

Hello all!.....my first post here

The window on the driver's door does not seal properly. I am looking for the proper name of this rubber strip so i can replace it myself. Which leads me to my next question...will this be as easy and straightforward as a project as i think it will? I am by no means a car expert, but I'm good with my hands and figuring new stuff out, so I figure I am at least capable. Any help is appreciated!
Thanks!

Old 06-11-2006, 10:05 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default RE: window seal

first off Welcome to HAF,,,,,,,,,
secondly,, please input the year and model on your sig so all the members know what car you need help on..

the part in the pic is called the window run channel........looking at the pics, you might want to try to reposition it on the outer side of the window and leave it like that for a few days , since it is rubber , it might remold itself properly without the need of replacing it.........just get a small screwdriver and gently pry out on it as windlw goes up , so run channel will be on the outside of the glass..

if you ned to replace it, you need to remove the door panel. disattach the glass for the window regulator, 2 10mm bolts, lower regul;ator all the way down, . lay the glass gently down in the door cavity and replace the run channel.
make sure that run channel goes properly into the track guides.

Old 06-11-2006, 10:21 PM
bigeyedphish
Unregistered

Thanks!

I have a '96 accord, V6, 4 door

I have guided the window back under the seal as you suggested, and it always manages to find push back out of the channel like it is now....maybe i should apply some heat to try to reshape it again. BUT...looks like I'll be going for the replacement. Thanks for the help and warm welcome!

Old 06-11-2006, 10:32 PM