Headers, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your Accord breathe better here.

New header = computer readjustment?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2007, 12:26 PM
Default New header = computer readjustment?

I'm new to the world of tuning (I worked more on muscle cars) and I'm looking at putting a header on my '98 Accord. The engine is completely stock, and the car is a 2-door '98 Accord EX, automatic 4 speed, completely stock. I'm just looking to gain a little power without having to sacrifice too much fuel effeciency. If I got a new header and maybe exhaust later, would I have to do any reprogramming to any of the sensors? Again, right now I'm new to the world of tuning, so I have no idea...

Old 03-15-2007, 01:49 PM
19Accord97
Unregistered
Default RE: New header = computer readjustment?

Welcome! Sounds great to add a header. You do not need to do any reprogramming, as with and modification all you need to do is reset the ECU. By either, unhooking the battery and opening your doors for about 15 minutes or removing a fuse (Sry, I forget which one). Then after you put on your header, and reset the ecu, start your car and let it idle for 5-8 minutes to let it relearn itself. Make sure you dont press the gas though. Also, your original O2 sensor may become stuck in your stock manifold so spray it with WD-40 or liquid wrench and be prepared to buy another sensor just in case. Also which brands are you looking @? I have OBX and they are cheap, but great quality EXCEPT for the gaskets, so if you go with OBX or another brand w/ cheap gaskets, get good quality ones so you dont have to replace them again later. Also, make sure to retighten the nuts avery few days when the car is cold to prevent leaks and blowing out the gaskets. Good luck and let us know how it goes!

Old 03-15-2007, 06:19 PM