New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

About myself

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2022, 09:24 PM
Lightbulb About myself

Hi all,

Figured this would be the go-to-place to learn about all things Accord. I'm a 20-year student based in British Columbia, Abbotsford--if you heard on the news, yes, that is the one city ravaged by flooding last November.

Nonetheless, I come to you because I recently bought an '82 Accord LX, and have some questions about the Canadian model. I have had it for less than a week and have fell in love with it (my 01 Accord doesn't like it one bit). This car only had 92,445kms when I got it, and the day after I put in around 100kms on a little road trip to see how it handled--and it does so well! Unfortunately it has sat for most of its life, but fortunately in shops--it has changed hands quite a lot and the guy who sold me this did so because he needed space in his garage and had no time for it--he had 5 cars himself and just wanted it gone, so I got it for a bargain and it included plenty of work that had been previously done (alternator, new battery, fuel pump and filter, ignition coil, spark plugs, rear drums and front brake pads and choke cable). That being said, it needs a lot of work, especially bodywork. There are rust spots all around the car as well as a few holes in the undercarriage--not unexpected for a 40-year-old car (and in part why I got it for a good price). Upholstery has seen better days as well, and the back of the headliner is falling off.

This is my first carbureted car, with a manual choke. Suffices to say that I've had my share of stalls and have flooded the engine already, but it's all about learning. So here are my questions: