New Member Area Are you new? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Fast Eddie Checkin' in...

Old 11-22-2017, 07:23 PM
Newest Of Newbies
Default Fast Eddie Checkin' in...

I'm in Portland, Or. and I've got an ailing 2002 Accord EX 4 Cyl...230k and the auto trans is finally giving out. Been a good car, and I'm a pretty good mechanic, so I'm going to attempt the rebuild myself. It's acting like the clutch packs are worn out, it's not staying engaged in d4 and erratically and harshly shifting in lower gears as well. Has 0740, 0730 codes, torque converter doesn't lock up. Any help/advice appreciated. I'll be looking for a good tech manual source, the OEM Service Manual if I can find one, or get a source for online manual.

Old 11-23-2017, 09:46 AM
Super Moderator

For a manual, I've used "automanualsource" before and been happy with what I got.

If you are going to do the rebuild, look into the "kits" for the valve body. Many of these suffered from a sticking valve that would cut the trans fluid flow through the trans cooler below ~1500 rpm.......think about sitting/moving in traffic and there is no fluid flow through the trans cooler....talk about cooking.

Old 11-25-2017, 03:19 PM
Newest Of Newbies

I'm pretty much thinking this is an internal issue, but I'd hate to pull down the tranny only to find it's a control issue. What's anyone think of the symptoms? No converter lockup, free-revving in d4(no engagement at times, just revvs), erratic and jolting shifts in lower gears, no engagement at times when taking off from stop...almost 240k, and when I pulled the plate with shift selenoids, it had significant metal on the screen(not totally plugged, but "significant" meaning a pretty good layer). Gonna take it out one more time for last evaluation, any specific road test I should do?

Old 11-27-2017, 03:01 PM
Newest Of Newbies