Transmission - Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums


Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:35 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Default Transmission

I have a 2000 accord v6 my question is can i replace my 4 speed automatic transmission with a 6 speed automatic transmission from another accord?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2018, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kimball MI
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondaj30 View Post
I have a 2000 accord v6 my question is can i replace my 4 speed automatic transmission with a 6 speed automatic transmission from another accord?

You can, but it'll be more work. I only say that, as you'll need the ECU from the 6 speed AT car, along with the wiring harness. The newer cars got more electronics involved in the transmission. As it is, your 2000 uses a 2000 to 2002 trans due to having some added electronics over the 98-99 version that look like your own (mid year split).
You'd be better off trying to find a 2000 to 2002 V6 AT trans and installing it (then it's just a mechanical swap, and all of your existing stuff stays).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2018, 10:48 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Default J30a4

Can i swap the intake from a j30a4 for a j30a5 ? it's still the same motor 3.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2018, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kimball MI
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondaj30 View Post
Can i swap the intake from a j30a4 for a j30a5 ? it's still the same motor 3.0

No idea, as I'm not really into the V6 cars. All of mine are 4 cylinder cars.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2018, 02:34 PM
shipo's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 2,239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondaj30 View Post
Can i swap the intake from a j30a4 for a j30a5 ? it's still the same motor 3.0
I rather doubt an intake swap will get you much; if you want a bump in power from our current engine you're probably going to need to swap out the heads. I'm thinking it would still be better, faster, cheaper to simply drop in a complete J35.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rebuilt transmission vs used transmission desiredkarma Engine & Internal 5 11-09-2015 03:13 PM
Would a transmission fluid drain and fill make the transmission worse? MessAround General Tech Help 1 08-13-2011 09:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertising

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.