Transmission - Honda Accord Forum - Honda Accord Enthusiast Forums

Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

Transmission

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 07-06-2018, 12:35 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Default Transmission

I have a 2000 accord v6 my question is can i replace my 4 speed automatic transmission with a 6 speed automatic transmission from another accord?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2018, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kimball MI
Posts: 751
Default

Originally Posted by Hondaj30 View Post
I have a 2000 accord v6 my question is can i replace my 4 speed automatic transmission with a 6 speed automatic transmission from another accord?

You can, but it'll be more work. I only say that, as you'll need the ECU from the 6 speed AT car, along with the wiring harness. The newer cars got more electronics involved in the transmission. As it is, your 2000 uses a 2000 to 2002 trans due to having some added electronics over the 98-99 version that look like your own (mid year split).
You'd be better off trying to find a 2000 to 2002 V6 AT trans and installing it (then it's just a mechanical swap, and all of your existing stuff stays).
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2018, 11:48 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Default J30a4

Can i swap the intake from a j30a4 for a j30a5 ? it's still the same motor 3.0
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2018, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kimball MI
Posts: 751
Default

Originally Posted by Hondaj30 View Post
Can i swap the intake from a j30a4 for a j30a5 ? it's still the same motor 3.0

No idea, as I'm not really into the V6 cars. All of mine are 4 cylinder cars.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2018, 03:34 PM
shipo's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 2,361
Default

Originally Posted by Hondaj30 View Post
Can i swap the intake from a j30a4 for a j30a5 ? it's still the same motor 3.0
I rather doubt an intake swap will get you much; if you want a bump in power from our current engine you're probably going to need to swap out the heads. I'm thinking it would still be better, faster, cheaper to simply drop in a complete J35.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
desiredkarma
Engine & Internal
5
11-09-2015 04:13 PM
MessAround
General Tech Help
1
08-13-2011 10:45 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Transmission


Advertising

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.