Appearance Talk about your Accord's interior and exterior mods here.

HID, is Relay Harness needed?

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2008, 09:18 PM
Default HID, is Relay Harness needed?

I'm a relative newbie here and I did try to search for my answer but could not find a post referencing my specific question. I'm looking on Fleabay for some HID's and there are some good sellers with great feedback. Looks like you get some decent pricing on there too. Anyways, what I'm concerned about is that some of them don't offer a Relay harness and the ones that do say it is a must. Here is a quote:

"Let’s say you install the HID ballast directly to where the low beam halogen bulb is connected. Some vehicles might be are able to power up HID system normally without problems at install, but over time it will not last. Startup current for HID Lights is 13 amps per ballast, compared to 7 amps for halogen.
Your factory wiring system is designed for a halogen based headlight which draws 7 amps of current at startup and 4.5 amps continuous load. Over time, connectors, multifunction switch, headlight switch, wiring and fuse holders will slowly degrade because of heat buildup. These components are very expensive to replace. This type of damage could have been avoided with a relay wire harness. With the relay harness power is drawn directly from your battery protecting your factory wiring and expensive ballast."
Yes? No? Most kits don't include it so it is really a big deal? Could it even be a bad thing? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Old 03-29-2008, 03:56 AM
Default RE: HID, is Relay Harness needed?

some cars do need the relay, but our accords don't. i'm guessing it's a plug n' play kit so it'll directly fit to your car's original connectors.
minor tweaks may be needed, such as sanding a tab on connector, drilling a hole to mount the ballast, and sanding/drilling/rubber fitting for the bulb.