Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Alarm Problem....

  #2  
Old 10-08-2009, 04:51 PM
t00fatt's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,294
Default

I really no nothing about alarams, only installed one and I had a buddy help me. My guess would be bad wiring or bad alarm module, take it to another shop. Best buy is hands down the worst installer shop around, you don't know how many times I've had to redo friends cars because they went to BB. I have even heard horror stories here about BB installers, some of the worst and laziest installers out there. Especially now that they aren't independent and are part of the geek squad. I'm sure there are a handful of knowledgeable people that work for best buy temporarily, but in general they hire anyone and teach them the bare basics.
 
  #3  
Old 10-08-2009, 06:07 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: US
Posts: 101
Default

I really no nothing about alarams, only installed one and I had a buddy help me. My guess would be bad wiring or bad alarm module, take it to another shop. Best buy is hands down the worst installer shop around, you don't know how many times I've had to redo friends cars because they went to BB. I have even heard horror stories here about BB installers, some of the worst and laziest installers out there. Especially now that they aren't independent and are part of the geek squad. I'm sure there are a handful of knowledgeable people that work for best buy temporarily, but in general they hire anyone and teach them the bare basics.
First of all, not all of Best Buy's installers are bad. I for one, have been there for a little over 7 years and have achieved the highest level of MECP certification (1 of 22 of 3000 total installers) by learning from some of the best in the business. Yes i'll agree that there are bad ones out there, I can test to that. But I can't even count how many times I've had to fix the "well my friend installed it" or my favorite "I've done this before" jobs who claim they know as much. But it all ends up that they don't know **** for ****.

As far as the problem here, sounds to me like a poor ground to the siren (-) or a poor connection to the siren output wire (+) triggered from the brain. To test the brain, use a DMM and meter the siren output from the brain...brown wire in a large white harness. Should give one 12v(+) pulse for lock and 2 (+)pulses displayed for unlock. If its doing so each time, I'd have to go with the siren, or sirens 2 possible connections. If its not that then the siren may be going bad due to long exposure of the weather elements, depends on how long you have had it, and with the climate area. I know here in minnesota i've had to replace a few. Also goes back to how they are mounted (not upside down like a fish bowl). But thats without me actually seeing it.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lecompte51
General Tech Help
2
07-03-2013 01:38 AM
prkarpi
General Tech Help
3
05-30-2009 02:58 AM
jtluvul
General Tech Help
3
06-01-2007 07:36 AM
mr studio
General Tech Help
2
05-23-2007 04:57 AM
kennilope
General Tech Help
0
03-11-2007 05:08 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Alarm Problem....


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.