Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Noob with '99 Accord LX Alternator question

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2014, 09:05 PM
Default Noob with '99 Accord LX Alternator question

Hi all :3 I'm still learning all of my Honda/Acura models and compatibilities. So, I have a 1999 Honda Accord LX, auto. tranny, with the 2.3 Vtek F series engine. (with A/C) I'm a bit of a tech junkie so I put a computer in just about everything i do :P. I'm looking at getting a 400-500 Watt power inverter (im not going to use that many watts on the inverter maybe around 400 at the very most but my ideal target seems to be 210 watts for the computer and monitor together.) I believe the stock alternator is 90 amps if I'm not mistaken. I have a brand new very large non-stock battery in for my running battery so I have the ability to sit and listen to the stock radio or my Sony explod for an hour with the car off and still be able to drive away with plenty of power. I don't have like an amp or anything just radios, the 4 stock pioneers, and 2 JD speakers. I do most of my mods and car parts out of the junkyard.

What I need to know and learn:

What year/model Acuras/hondas have the same alternator compatibility stock as my accord for replacement purposes?

Which ones if compatible come stock slightly stonger, like say 105 amp alts or something?

What are the stock rating differences between the trim levels?

Are the older Hondas with 2.3 engines alternators compatible? (don't know if OBD1 vs 2 is a big deal or if you can mod that)

Is there any other brand of car that would have the same type of mounts and functionality just with some harness mods or maybe bypasses? (Just curious and kind of a roadkill experiment type of thing)

Finally, would i be able to do this with a 90 Watter or no?