Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

**Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

  #1  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:52 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

98 Accord Ex 2.3

Does anyone know if the throttle plate on my car is adjustable? I just found out that my plate is not closing tight and is leaking some air in. I already clean it with some cleaner.

Any comment is appreciated....
 
  #2  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:20 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,905
Default RE: **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

there is a tsb on it but I do not know who is hosting it........DesertHonda should be about help you on that specific one
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-2006, 04:16 PM
deserthonda's Avatar
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In The Desert ( Sahara ? )
Posts: 4,754
Default RE: **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

there is a bulletin # 01-004. jan 9 2001......

but that is for the throttle plate sticking,, all you do is partially remove the throttle plate and clean it on both sides

normal warranty applies 3 yrs 36k miles
 
  #4  
Old 10-30-2006, 09:55 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 905
Default RE: **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

ORIGINAL: 98accord98

98 Accord Ex 2.3

Does anyone know if the throttle plate on my car is adjustable? I just found out that my plate is not closing tight and is leaking some air in. I already clean it with some cleaner.

Any comment is appreciated....
Is the throttle cable properly adjusted?
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-2006, 07:57 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default RE: **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

is there a way to remove the throttle plate without removing the whole throttle body?

yes, the throttle cable is properly adjusted.
 
  #6  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:03 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,475
Default RE: **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

are you able to push the throttle plate closed without any trouble? because if that were off, that would mean the tps is off and you would be getting a cel code, second did you check to see if the two mounting screws were tight?
i cant remember if those were on the inside or the outside but the throttle body is easy to remove either way.... youll just most likely need to buy another gasket for it
and yes you would have to take off the tps, and that is riveted on there otherwise a new tps/throttle body is like 240$ give or take
 
  #7  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:38 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Default RE: **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**

marbro

thanks for the reply. i notice that my idle went down a little to about 800rpm when i push on the plate. so this makes me think the plate is loose. the idle is already adjusted to the min. and is sitting at about 900 to 1000rpm, which is a little high. the engine did not throw the cel light. this throttle body has never been removed before so i don't think it's the mounting screw........i am kinda thinking just buy a new throtle body.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
RobinsonRicer
Headers, Intake, & Exhaust
8
02-18-2013 12:20 PM
jfidelh
General Tech Help
17
05-25-2012 09:54 AM
Al_S
Engine & Internal
1
06-26-2010 08:17 PM
Orange Crush
General Tech Help
9
06-18-2008 08:31 PM
danny102288
General Tech Help
5
04-22-2008 08:02 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: **Throttle Plate Loose...Help**


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.