Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

2001 EX V6 Auto-Tranny - Is tranny good, or bad??

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2013, 11:01 PM
Default 2001 EX V6 Auto-Tranny - Is tranny good, or bad??

I'm a newbie...both to this forum and owning a Honda. My daughter is turning 16 and a guy at our church had this 2001 Red Coupe EX V6 with only 80k orig miles on the clock and the car is super super nice. So I bought it. After I started driving it, I noticed the tranny acting funny if I applied very much throttle at all. So, I read and searched the forums a lot and did the following: Changed the tranny fluid x3 with the OEM Honda auto-tranny fluid, replaced the pressure switches for gears 3 & 4 (that's all the Honda dealer said the tranny had). The tranny is acting much better....BUT....the two issues that remain are: When slowing from 45 mph to about 10-15 mph, then applying the throttle at a moderate level, there's a pretty distinct "clunk" that comes with the downshift....but doing this same thing with only applying just a little throttle, and it shifts gears smoothly. The second thing it still does is downshift hard when you romp on the gas....so at 45 mph, then floor it, you get a BIG "clunk" when it downshifts. Other than that all gears shift just right, there's no slippage at all, reverse works great, there's no unusual noise. So what do I need to do to fix the remaining two issues? Something tells me that soft-shoeing the throttle is not the answer...surely Honda didn't build these trannys to only take light throttle in these two scenarios? Oh...one other thing, the car generally only shifts from first to second at about 3,000-3,500 rpms, but if I get to about 2500 rpm's and let off the gas quickly, the tranny will still hang in first gear for about 1 second before going ahead and shifting to second....all my other cars immediately shift to 2nd if I do this same thing. Now, when it does this, it's a smooth shift, but just not sure why it