Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Broke Tach

  #1  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:46 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default Broke Tach

So my tachometer since i bought my car hasnt worked - any tips or suggestions on what i should do to attempt to fix it?

Im willing to try anything at this point - it bugs the crapola out of me....
 
  #2  
Old 01-04-2008, 08:42 AM
00AccordLX5spd's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 4,322
Default RE: Broke Tach

Is the tach totally dead (on 0 all the time)? Or does it wildly jump around? Does the engine seem to shudder or anything?
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-2008, 07:02 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default RE: Broke Tach

stuck on 0 always, everything runs flawlessly.
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-2008, 09:39 PM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 905
Default RE: Broke Tach

check engine light on? any stored trouble codes?
 
  #5  
Old 01-05-2008, 05:48 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default RE: Broke Tach

check engine light comes on and off - i reset it, couple trips in it, and it comes back on.
I dont know what to do anymore [:@]
 
  #6  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:50 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 905
Default RE: Broke Tach

ORIGINAL: Joseph

check engine light comes on and off - i reset it, couple trips in it, and it comes back on.
I dont know what to do anymore [:@]
What trouble code does it have stored?
 
  #7  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:18 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 100
Default RE: Broke Tach

Im not too good with understanding what your talking about haha

Explain this to me as if i know nothing about cars.....I dont even know what trouble codes are []
 
  #8  
Old 01-06-2008, 10:54 PM
JimBlake's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17,413
Default RE: Broke Tach

If thecheck-engine lamp is on, the ECU stores an error-code to help you narrow down the search for the problem.
 
  #9  
Old 01-07-2008, 08:25 AM
00AccordLX5spd's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 4,322
Default RE: Broke Tach

pull the ashtray straight out. There is a service connector there. Take the car to AutoZone and have them hook an OBDII code reader to the port you uncovered by removing the ashtray. Have them print out the code number or write down the code number and post it here. They will try to tell you what the problem is, but their computer's explanations are often inaccurate for Hondas. Post the exact code # here. It should look like P####.
I would be willing to bet itis going to give you an ignition coil fault.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
g22cd5
Private 'Wanted' Classifieds
5
11-05-2010 01:29 AM
Chiovnidca
Off Topic
5
04-02-2007 10:54 PM
kennilope
General Tech Help
5
03-10-2007 12:16 AM
shawn till dawn
General Tech Help
12
01-24-2007 04:34 PM
monicarae02
General Tech Help
2
07-14-2006 02:40 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Broke Tach


Advertising

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.