Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Just Curious: Resetting ECU

  #1  
Old 05-29-2007, 02:36 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Biloxi, MS
Posts: 291
Default Just Curious: Resetting ECU

I've been reading around about people having to reset their ECUs after a modification to their car. I know a little about the ECU, but what exactly does it do, and what would the effects be to my stock car if I reset my ECU? I'm just curious because I'm on around 191,000 miles and am wondering what the pros and cons would be if I reset the ECU. Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 05-29-2007, 07:59 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,357
Default RE: Just Curious: Resetting ECU

Pros: Probably not much for a stock car but its not like its gonna hurt anything either.

Cons: Having to reset all your radio stations.

 
  #3  
Old 05-29-2007, 09:48 AM
00AccordLX5spd's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 4,322
Default RE: Just Curious: Resetting ECU

It won't hurt it to reset it. Right now I am messing with my 95 V6 trying to find the culprit to a pesky check engine light. Every time I do something to the car (i.e. if I disconnect something trying to find out if it is merely a faulty connection causing the check engine light) I reset the ECU. All you really have to do is disconnect the battery for about 15 minutes. Or you can pull the "radio"fuse under the hood for 15 minutes. If you look at the fuse box under the hood, pull the cover off,fuse is at the top right I believe. The fuse box will have a diagram on it showing which fuse is which though. I usually disconnect the battery and pull the fuse. Although I do not think it is necessary to do both to reset the ECU.
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-2007, 12:02 PM
JimBlake's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17,516
Default RE: Just Curious: Resetting ECU

Battery or fuse, either/or should reset the ECU.

Over time, the ECU 'learns' the behavior of some things in the car. Particularly the IACV, FITV, & things that influence the idle. To force it to re-learn that stuff, do the following...
- Reset ECU by your favorite method. (make it forget what it has learned)
- Start engine without touching the gas pedal.
- Let it idle untilcompletely warmed up,without touching the gas pedal.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Jaywizzz
Off Topic
3
10-10-2011 10:54 AM
bensminger2003
General Tech Help
1
08-26-2011 03:45 PM
03Sleeper
Engine & Internal
15
06-26-2008 11:09 AM
eric123
General Tech Help
11
01-08-2008 06:37 PM
1996AccordLX
Headers, Intake, & Exhaust
7
04-27-2007 12:14 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Just Curious: Resetting ECU


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.