Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Rebuilt head, no high RPM

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2011, 01:45 AM
Default Rebuilt head, no high RPM

Hello out there.

My name is Jon and i am new to working on Honda's. Now for my delima. I broke my timeing belt going down the high way........... You guessed it, bent valves. so I popped the head off and took it to a shop to be rebuilt. i put it back on torqued the head to spec adjusted valves to spec ect... When i went to start it for the first time it was really hard and has been from then on. The car runs great at idle and up to 3500 RPM. Once i reach 3500 the motor cops out and pulses and no power. When i baught the car someone had already chewed up everything they could, so i wouldent be surprised if something is missing. I havent ran codes yet, Were should i start looking????? Im used to working on a 5.9l cummins One cyl is as big as my motor. Oh oops this is on a 1996 honda accord 4 cyl vtec. I know nothing about the (VTEC).

Any help would be Awesome.
Jon

Old 12-21-2011, 08:45 AM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

Suggest you download the 94-97 Accord Manual from Online Manuals links in DIY forum. This will provide details of your system and see what's missing.

I would start w/ basics; check for codes from ECM.

Hard starting may be related to FITV (Fast Idle Thermo Valve). Check that it is opening w/ cold engine and allowing additional starting air.

Clean throttle plate and bore. Clean IACV movement. Make sure you have a clean intake air filter and no air leaks in intake duct. Check the PCV valve and hose is hooked up and functioning correctly.

Check for masssive intake air leaks (brake booster line, PCV, intake manifold leak, etc).

good luck

Old 12-23-2011, 09:33 AM

Double check your cam timing.

Old 12-23-2011, 05:42 PM