General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

00 Accord A/C Cold and Cool

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 04:21 PM
00Accord3
Unregistered
Default 00 Accord A/C Cold and Cool

I have an 00 Accord 5 speed with 257k miles and am wondering why my A/C blows FREEZING cold for a bit and then blows warm for 5-10 secs and then back to freezing cold. Could it just need a/c coolant or a recharge? Any help is appreciated on this issue before I take it to a shop. I stay reasonably cool even on a HOT day, but I would like to get it to stay cold.

Old 07-30-2009, 04:50 PM

I'm no AC expert by any means, so take what i say with a grain of salt.
There are several AC experts on here that can provide much better help than I can, but here goes:

Sounds to me like it might be low on r134. Most will tell you there has to be a leak somewhere for it to lose refrigerant, but I find it extremely hard to believe that after 257k miles, it wouldn't need to be recharged at least once. Nothing lasts forever in my opinion.
You could go buy a r134a recharge kit at AutoZone that comes with a pressure gauge showing when it should be full. Follow the instructions that come with the kit. Check the pressure before adding refrigerant. You DO NOT want to overcharge the system.

I experienced a similar problem with my old 95 V6 before I got rid of it. It would fluctuate between cold & not cold. I recharged it once after checking the pressure and finding it to be low. The recharge lasted about a year and it stopped blowing cold again. I recharged it again and traded it in. Of course there was a leak somewhere, but r134 is cheap anyway. I only had to recharge it once a year so i figured it wasn't worth it to me to repair the leak.

Last edited by 00AccordLX5spd; 07-30-2009 at 04:54 PM.
Old 07-30-2009, 04:52 PM
Super Moderator