General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1986 Accord DX - wont start. help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2012, 01:39 PM
Unhappy 1986 Accord DX - wont start. help!!!

Hi I just purchased a 1986 honda accord dx yesterday from a private party. was driving great yesterday, no problems. with 90,525 miles (yes all original) all receipts - new transmission/motor rebuilt with carb. In 2010 with 80,xxx miles. New battery with warranty, starter, alternator, exhaust, shocks, cv boots, radiator, and alignment. I picked her up for 2400$ from a private party. It's super clean and sounded/drove great yesterday. just filled full of gas.
Ive never had a honda before, and I just spent all my saved money to buy, I'm a working college student, now out of a car again, any input would be greatly appreciated!

Heres my problem:
I started it this morning with no problem, It was cold but not freezing, just a little bit of dew/frost on the windows. (pumped one pump of the gas pedal before starting like the instructions say). It started great. Let it run for 3 mins before putting in reverse and backing out of driveway (backing down a not very steep hill about 2 car lenghts long before dying). As I was backing out it was having a very low, subtle clunking like choking, barely noticeable as i was moving in reverse. got out of the driveway and I stopped. Just about to put into drive, and that's when it died. Just turn off no sounds when dying just like i had turned off the car on purpose. just totally dead. I try to re start it and it tries an tries and sounds like its just about to start, but doesn't. No smoke, nothing. Trying to start it for about 10 minutes (with same result) before I had to give up and leave- I've got school and work I have to attend.