General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1991 LX automatic transmission puzzle

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2016, 08:41 AM
Default 1991 LX automatic transmission puzzle

Hello everyone. I'm new to Honda's and this forum.

I searched a lot on this forum and some others for a description of the transmission problem that I am experiencing but I haven't found one that mentions what I am experiencing.

I just read the post that Frank_Jr made about his 1995 and it sounds similar.

The car has 159K miles on it and the atf isn't bright red but it still has a red cast to it on the dip stick. I plan to replace the atf.

The problem that I have is that after I drive the car for a while, it will begin soft-shifting between 1 & 2 and then it will progress to slipping in the other upshifts until the car will not move at all. The downshifts seem to be normal (I guess as I wrote this car is new to me). Now, for the puzzle. I found that when I turn the engine off and let it sit for a minute that I can restart the engine and the transmission will shift "normally" again.

I'm suspecting that this problem is not internally mechanical at this point and must be electrical since turning the engine off and then restarting it would appear to reset something to make it shift normally again.

What is the consensus here regarding my experience and what should I do to remedy it other than replacing the atf since I have no idea either when it was last change or what fluid is in it now.

Old 08-16-2016, 12:41 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

TCU problems were common for this generation Accords. Last time I checked used and rebuilts were readily available for reasonable costs.

Here is TSB on issue.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2j...o0YjN1bW8/edit

Check youtube for TCU repair videos, if needed.

good luck

Old 08-16-2016, 12:51 PM

Thank you for responding TexasHonda.