General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1996 Accord EX won't start. Sometimes.

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 10:22 PM
Default 1996 Accord EX won't start. Sometimes.

I'm new to Hondas so I might give more information than necessary. It's a 96 Accord EX with a 4 cylinder 2.2 VTEC. Sometimes it won't start. Engine turns over fast, there's usually spark verified with a timing light. A couple of times I found no spark. One constant is that when it won't start there's no 2nd click from the main relay (fuel pump relay) and no whirr from the fuel pump. At first we thought the problem was moisture related. We've since determined that it doesn't seem to be related to humidity or temperature. We found that separating the spark plug wires got it to start initially and the timing light showed a double flash when it wouldn't start like there was bleed from another wire. I replaced the cap and wires. No change. This was before I knew about the main relay and the click that signaled the fuel pump turning on.

1. Turns over but won't start.
2. Has spark. Replaced plug wires and distributor cap.
3. Fuel pump doesn't run when it won't start.
4. Only one click from the main relay.
5. Re-soldered main relay. Didn't fix the problem so I replaced the relay. No change.
6. Checked for codes by jumping the service connector under the glovebox. This was interesting. Nothing from the check engine light but the ABS light blinked what I think was a 13 and a 21.
7. When it won't start the check engine light stays on.
8. When it's going to start the check engine light goes out, fuel pump whirrs and the D4 light comes on.
9. Tonight I found if it won't start I can leave the key in the ON position and after 10-20 seconds the relay clicks, fuel pump whirrs, D4 light comes on. Turn the key and it starts. This may be an anomaly and might not work tomorrow.