General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1998 Accord LX 4 Cylinder - Sputtering - No check engine light

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2010, 04:17 PM
Default 1998 Accord LX 4 Cylinder - Sputtering - No check engine light

Dear All,

Newbie here.

I just replaced my radiator and compressor in my Honda Accord 1998 LX 4 cylinder model for $900 (06/29/2010). I got this car in 2005 and as of today it has run 105K miles.

But after replacing the radiator and compressor, the engine started sputtering randomly when the A/C was on. After a few days, it has started sputtering (even when the A/C is off) after it runs for about 15 minutes. It struggles to climb on inclines (07/03/2010). When I stop at the lights, it struggles mightily and loses power when I turn.

My mechanic suggested using unleaded fuel instead of the regular fuel to help the engine burn the fuel more efficiently. But it has been of no help. He checked the spark plug it looked ok and he suspected the wires connecting the spark plug might be causing the problem.

When I started today, the idle rpm is hitting 1250 instead of the usual 750 and it is still sputtering.

My mechanic has no idea what the problem is since the check engine light is not on and he asked me to do a diagnostic check at a Honda dealer. How much will a diagnostic test cost?

Any suggestions to help us fix the problem is greatly welcome!

Thanks
Anand

Old 07-04-2010, 06:10 PM
Super Moderator

Leaded gasoline has be banned for some time now in the US. The 98 US accord does not take leaded gasoline.

You can stop by a parts store like autozone and have them check for codes.

Since the radiator was replaced, I wonder if your mechanic bled the air out of the system when he refilled it. Air left in the system will screw up your idle. Ask him if he did that.