General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 Accord A/C Troubleshooting Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2015, 11:22 PM
Default 2002 Accord A/C Troubleshooting Help Needed

I have a 2002 Honda Accord EX 4 Cyl. The other day, when driving on the freeway, I noticed that when I turn on the A/C, only room temperature air blows out. Since air does come out, I don't think it is the blower under the glove box. I looked under the hood and noticed that with the A/C on, A/C fan and Radiator fan both turn on, but then off very quickly (~3 seconds). The car hasn't overheated after driving distance. When I turn on the A/C, I have not seen the compressor clutch engage at all.

I'm not that experienced with troubleshooting these kinds of things, but have been doing a lot of searching on the Internet, so I've tried a few things:

1. I double-checked all controls on dash to make sure they work (fresh air/recycle button, A/C on/off, made sure temp is on coldest)

2. I checked all fuses (under hood, and next to driver/passenger side doors and they look fine)

3. I've switched the 2 fan relays in the fuse box to see if one was broken. This made no effect on the situation, so I switched them back.

Is there anything else that I can try? I would really like to at least figure out what is wrong and possibly fix it before going to the mechanic.

Thanks for any help,
Andrew

Old 11-21-2015, 08:15 AM
Super Moderator

The system might be low. If you have a volt meter you can test the AC pressure switch to see if there is continuity across the pins - the switch will "open" (no continuity) when the pressure is below ~28psi or above ~455psi. This is to protect the ac compressor from damage.

Old 11-21-2015, 12:20 PM

Thanks Poorman. I do have a voltmeter but admit I don't really know how to use it! I will figure it out and report back.

Old 11-21-2015, 01:14 PM