General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

94 accord 2.2 idles high when it's warm temps

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2016, 08:19 AM
Default 94 accord 2.2 idles high when it's warm temps

Hi I'm new to the his forum and hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I have read this same problem multiple times from forums but can't seem to find the solution. Have bled the cooling system twice, screwed the ring in on the fitv, cleaned the throttle body. Had to replace the throttle body with a used one that had another tps and fitv on it and still had no luck.
When I first got the car it had the typical idle surge and I cleaned the egr passages on the intake and it fixed that problem. 3 out of the four was clogged.
In the winter and cooler weather car idles fine and perfect. But as summer closes in and outside temps rise with the car running warmer it idles high when the engine reaches temp. 2-3k sometimes makes it difficult to drive.
Replaced the iac valve yesterday with a used clean one....no luck. I did notice no water came out of the hoses to the iac valve when I removed them. They were damp at best. Not sure if this is a flag. I have blown through all the passages on the thrott body when it was off. Not sure what else to check. I've heard aftermarket pcv valves can cause problems but not sure if that would be temp related.
Will be very grateful if someone can share info if they know what this might be.
Thank you in advance!

Old 05-03-2016, 05:56 PM
Super Moderator

A quick way to figure out if the high idle is FITV related is to pull the snorkel off the throttle body. Start the engine and let it warm up to operating temperature. Do the fans turn on? Also, what does the temperature gauge inside the car read. Cover the lower port inside of the throttle body with your finger. Does the idle stabilize?