General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

94 Honda Accord won't start within 5 minutes of turning off

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2012, 11:41 PM
Default 94 Honda Accord won't start within 5 minutes of turning off

I have a 1994 Honda Accord EX, VTEC, 4 cylinder, with a manual transmission. It has 174,000 miles. I am a pizza delivery driver so do a lot of city driving.
Here is the problem. Starting about a year and a half ago my car would have trouble starting. I would be driving most of the day then I would turn it off then less than 5 minutes later I would go out to start it and it would turn over, barely start, and then it would die. I would try to start it again and it would not start. I would sit there for about 5 minutes then it would start again and all would be well.
When this started I would only have this problem maybe every 2-3 months. But over the past year and a half the frequency of the problem has been increasing.
Now the problem is so bad that it happens 99% of the time that I turn off my car. When I go to get gas, if I turn off my car I am positive that it will not start once I have filled up the tank. I will need to sit there for an additional 5-10 minutes for it to start. When I get back from a delivery or when I am on a delivery I do not dare turn off my car because I know that I will need to wait 5-10 minutes for it to be able to start again.
When this started it was only once every 2-3 months. Now it is all the time. I know if I drive it, then turn it off to go into the grocery store or something that will take more than 10 minutes it will start again. But anything under 10 minutes it will not start. It will barely turn over then die.