General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

96 accord f22b2 engine overhaul questions(timing and pistons)/ slight introductions

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2013, 04:43 PM
Cool 96 accord f22b2 engine overhaul questions(timing and pistons)/ slight introductions

Alright, so I have been browsing all the accord forums for the last two years, have had everything pretty well figured out with all the information that has been posted out there. today I am looking for some second advice from all you amazing honda-tecs.

So my car was stolen this last summer and we got it back, but when the officer found it, it was turned on and sitting in overheat. It had lost all it's coolant and a small portion of oil(Always had the oil leak, have recently learned it was from a leaky distributor and loose oil sensor on the back of the motor). Not I have had the overheat issue for a while where if the car sits at idle(Park or stopped) it would overheat after about 5 minutes.

Didn't let the insurance company keep it, we bought it back from them after they totaled it(which im pretty pissed about, it could have been fixed.)

Anyways, I am in deep now, got the head off and timing off and now am curious on a few things.

1) When I was pulling the timing off, I didn't have a balance belt or front balance pulley. When I look at the plastic timing cover it looks like the front balance pulley could have potentially shot out of the vehicle through the cover with the belt. Or it was someone's crazy hack job. Anyways, how bad is this? This car has had bad shifting since we bought it. Like really rough forward backward movement. Even after a tranny swap.

Image:

2) Now, what should I be looking for on my pistons to know whether they are good or not? They have a bit of build up on them, is it normal wear or not? Can I clean them?

All info helps! Thanks.