General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

99 Accord DX 2.3L - Head Gasket Endeavor

Old 09-13-2013, 04:39 PM
Default 99 Accord DX 2.3L - Head Gasket Endeavor

I purchased this car about a week ago with 159K miles, and needless to say, I was scammed. Anyway, not here to talk about that.

Head Gasket needs to be replaced, but I need some suggestions.

First - I'm not a novice, I'd call myself an enthusiastic amateur. I need a decent torque wrench for the occasional repair. I hope someone can suggest something for under $50?

Second - The Head Gasket itself. OEM, aftermarket? Does it matter? I'll need a valve cover gasket, will I need any others? Is there a "kit" so to speak. I'd like to avoid messing with the valve train if possible. It was running smooth before, never shut off by itself.

Third - Correct me if I'm wrong, sounds like a great opportunity to do water pump and timing/balance belts as well. That said, from the few things I've read and videos I've watch, it seems somewhat divided as to weather or not it's necessary to change the tensioners/springs. The belt made have been changed recently enough and it not be required, but I should at least take a look.

Last - I've watched a couple videos, and while involved, this job looks pretty straight forward. I'll check the head bolts, hopefully won't need them. But from those of you that have done this, is there any particular problem areas I should watch for? Tips/Tricks on the job itself?

Thanks.

Old 09-13-2013, 06:30 PM
Super Moderator : And A Texan

First, the inexpensive click-type torque wrenches work well enough. Try harbor freight, ebay for about $15.

Second Head Gasket - I've used Felpro on several headgaskets and like their product. Very similar to OEM.

Third Water Pump/Timing Belt - Yes, you need to remove timing belt and balance shaft belt to do this job, so replacing TB & WP is good idea.