General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

99 Accord LX 2.3VTEC - sputtering/stalling & codes P1259, P0170, P0171

Old 12-07-2011, 09:16 PM
Unhappy 99 Accord LX 2.3VTEC - sputtering/stalling & codes P1259, P0170, P0171

Help! I know enough about cars to follow directions pretty well, but I'm not experienced at trouble shooting!

My daughter's 99 Accord had been using a lot of oil lately -- a quart or more every few weeks, and it wans't dripping out anywhere. Then it wouldn't start some days, and would frequently stall and sputter when accelerating in various gears (not always the same gear or RPM). The Maintenance Light has been on for a long time, and a few months ago the CEL came on when it was really low on oil. She's not the best at checking oil levels.....and it was 3.5 qts low that time.

I read a few forums and did a few things, and now I'm down to just the sputtering/stalling problem and a CEL with codes P1259, P0171, P0170. I thought the sputtering might be the EGR valve going bad or clogged passages, but not sure about these codes?? P1259 says VTEC system malfunction, and 0171 is Fuel system too lean on Bank 1 (cylinder 1?), but doesn't give me enough info to assist my lack of experience

Here's what I've done so far:
1. I added a quart of oil treatment to help with the oil consumption issue and made sure the level stays OK now.
2. Replaced distributor cap, wires, cleaned the rotor connections, and cleaned off the plugs which were still in good condition, just blackened with crud.
3. Removed and cleaned the Throttle Body - it was pretty well coated on the inside also.
4. Checked the PCV valve - it rattled and had vacuum, so believe it is fine.
5. It doesn't have a fuel filter, just a screen on the pump, so I added some Seafoam to a tank of gas to clean things up and remove any water in the tank.
6. Checked the upper O2 sensor connection, which was snug and didn't look damaged or anything.