General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ABS churning after brake bleed

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2012, 07:42 AM
Default ABS churning after brake bleed

Hi guys

Newbie here. Just joined after buying my son a 95 Accord coupe Ex. 4 Cyl with an automatic. 139k.

My question...I took it to a local tech for timing belt/waterpump. He did that and noticed my brake pads showed some wear and suggested pads and rotors..no problem. I asked him to change brake fluid while he was at it..since it had never been changed.

Got it back and now noticed an intermitant churning sound(like a faint grrrr) coming from the abs system. Low on fluid? Air in the system? Just wandered if it was anything I could check? Owners manual says take it to a dealer.

Thanks!!

Old 06-04-2012, 11:15 AM
Super Moderator

Check the ABS reservoir and add brake fluid if necessary, or just bring it back to the guy to check.

Attached Thumbnails ABS churning after brake bleed-abs-reservoir-level-check.jpg   ABS churning after brake bleed-abs-cap.jpg  
Old 06-04-2012, 09:21 PM

Yeh.. I checked fluid level...and it is ok maybe even too full.

I may try and bleed the abs system to see if that helps..if not back to my tech.

Old 06-04-2012, 09:28 PM
Super Moderator

Let the tech do it, it is under high pressure.

Old 06-05-2012, 09:25 AM

Thanks for the advice....it really didn't seem like that big of a deal. I mean the bleeder is right on top...I read the procedure and it sounded pretty straight forward. The only question I had was where do you refill the reservoir for the abs...or do you just fill brake reservoir. I think my problem might be it is slightly over filled.

Old 06-05-2012, 09:59 AM
Super Moderator

It's refilled at the ABS reservoir. You would remove the cap (shown in the picture above) and if I remember correctly, there is another plastic piece you can pull up to make it easier to refill.