General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car does not start, Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2011, 06:02 AM
Default Car does not start, Please Help

Hi All,
I am a newbie about car and asking your kind help about the problem i am encountering.
Last week i bought a Honda Accord 1995 model EXI
the seller did not give me any original key for the car. he gave me a duplicate key instead. i did not even know the dashboard signs and their meanings. when i put the key in the key hole, one first turn all the light goes on and after couple of second signs go off and the car is starting. when i turned off the start and try to start the car again, the engine warning light (OBD) stays on and does not turn off and after couple of seconds the D4 started flashing even though P light was on. i had to wait 2/3 mins turning off everything, and the OBD light turned off as before and engine started. i went to the mechanic today, he checked the car with some sort of handheld computerized equipment, and said nothing wrong in engine or transmission. the problem might be on immobilizer because i do not have original key.the key comes out from the keyhole even though the engine is running. now the car is not starting at all. the mechanic said he will try to deactivate the immobilizer system and car will start. i do not know anything about car working system and totally confused.
Please help me to sort this out, as this is my first car and loved the car, although it is old. what could be the problem. any advise would be appreciated.

regards

Old 12-27-2011, 07:39 AM
Super Moderator

The 95's dot not have the "chip" in the key, so we can rule that out. Also the 95 should still be OBDI - I think some had the OBDII connector ???- so to get the codes there is a service connector on the pass side - glove box area - that you insert a paperclip or piece of wire to get the codes.