General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front light washers leak

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2006, 04:40 AM
PedroG
Unregistered
Default Front light washers leak

Hi, I just got an 1990 Honda Accord 2.0. I'm new to the forum, I'm new to Honda, and I'm quite inexperienced in auto repair in general. Also English isn't my mother tongue, and I don't know the English words for most car parts, so bear with me.

When I got the car I knew that the front light washers weren't working. The motor (or whatever) audibly runs, but no water is sprayed on the lights. I figured this was my first DIY repair.

I soon noticed that when the light washer was used, the fluid dripped down below both lights. I managed to remove the bumper. The spraying unit (that stands on the bumper, outside the car) is ok, the problem seems to be in a small connector right before the sraying unit. This plastic connector makes a 90 degree turn, and the direction of fluid flow is clearly marked.

Oddly (to me), on both connectors there is a small hole on the back of the connector. That's where the fluid comes out, and it shouldn't. For clarity, the fluid should turn left and go to the sprayer, but instead it turns a right and comes out from that little hole. Both connectors do this when I use the washer, and also if I simply put some water in my mouth and blow it to the connector.

It seems that this connector is faulty, right?

What is the meaning of that small hole, anyway? Is the connector some sort of a valve or what?

Old 07-31-2006, 09:15 AM
Been Around A Long Time Member
Default RE: Front light washers leak

What country are you from?

Old 07-31-2006, 05:28 PM
Super Moderator

Our Hondas don't have headlight washers here in USA, but those 'connectors' sound just like what's on my Saab. In this picture, there's a small hole in the 'top' of the round part.