General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hot starting problem..

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2007, 09:24 AM
slicnarf
Unregistered
Default Hot starting problem..

Hi all. I've been browsing through the forums for the last couple of weeks and have been quite impressed with how helpful everyone is so that's why I've decided to post.

Before I start I'm sorry to say I'm a complete newbie so my apologies in advance if I don't understand all the information you give.

Anyway, I've been having starting problems for the last 5 or 6 weeks and have been having a huge headache trying to figure out what needs to be done. I could just take it in to the mechanic but I don't really want to spend close to $400 without first trying a few other things or knowing more about what could be causing this problem. The car only has problems when I take a few short trips or one long trip and take a short stop-overand is even more noticeable when it's hot outside. The car isn't over-heating from what I can see by the in-car temp gauge. When the problem occurs the engine won't turn over at all. I just hear a "click" when I turn the key. If I leave the car for a bit (longer on hot days) the car will start up fine. I replaced the battery not too long ago thinking that it could be that but it still occurs. Another thing that happens when the car won't start (I don't know if this is normal or not) is that I can hear the rad fans coming on when I switch the key to the "on" position; could thisputting a drain on the battery so thatIdon't have enough battery power to start the car?I was tempted to replace the alternator but if the car starts back up when cool then it couldn't be that either, right? I'm getting sick of asking for boosts when/if I take my car for short trips around town. Please help!